We Help Families of Loved Ones Killed in Trucking Accidents Recover Just Compensation
Understanding Fatal Truck Accidents
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety's Highway Loss Data Institute has compiled several statistics that reflect why fatalities are so widespread in truck accidents.
- It takes 20 to 40 percent longer for trucks to brake compared to other vehicles
- Truck drivers are sometimes allowed to drive up to 11 hours at a time, making driver fatigue a major crash risk in truck accidents. Many drivers also exceed the amount of time they are allowed to drive, and studies have shown that fatigued drivers are as dangerous on the road as drunk drivers.
- In 2016, 3,986 victims died in large truck accidents.
- Seventeen percent of deaths were truck occupants, while 66 percent of deaths were occupants of other vehicles involved in the crash.
In the state of California, the statute of limitations for filing a wrongful death claim is two years. Therefore, time is of the essence.
Damages Your Family Could Receive
In the case of a wrongful death, your family may be entitled to compensation for:
- Funeral expenses
- Medical bills for any hospitalization prior to the death
- Future loss of income
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of consortium
In the state of California, only certain parties can recover compensation for these damages. They include the surviving:
- Domestic partner
- Beneficiary of the property left behind, which can include parents or siblings
- Stepchildren or parents who was financially dependent on the deceased person
A putative spouse, or an individual who was generally considered as the partner of the deceased, and their children may also be able to collect compensation. Our firm can compassionately work with your family to investigate the complexities of your case and determine whether you can recover compensation.
Why Hire an Attorney?
While medical and rehabilitation bills are easier to prove, the damages incurred as a result of a wrongful death are difficult to collect compensation for without the help of a lawyer. Our lawyers work with life care experts who can determine how the death will financially and emotionally affect your family for the rest of your lives.
Get the Support You Need
In the state of California, the statute of limitations for filing a wrongful death claim is two years. Therefore, time is of the essence. Our firm encourages you to reach out online or call one of our three locations to schedule a free consultation and learn more about how we can help you recover full and fair compensation.